Monday, August 27, 2007
Blog like an Egyptian
I now have in my passport a new stamp and two really cool visa stickers that say stuff in Arabic on them. You know what else they say on them? "Egypt." Yeah, man.We arrived in Sharm El Sheikh this morning, and our hotel is even better than we thought it would be. The pool is gorgeous, and even has a swim-up bar. Of course, I don't think we'll be doing much booze-drinking while we're here because the country is predominantly Muslim and furthermore, it's Ramadan. Whatever. I can drink in Russia. What I can't do in Russia is get a tan. Well, truthfully, I can't really do that anywhere with much success given the stubbornly pasty/freckled nature of my skin, but that's a whole 'nother story. What I'm trying to say is, I'm psyched to be here.A little later in the week we're going to the Cairo/Giza area to see the pyramids and such. Apparently we can buy tickets there on a local airline for less than 10 dollars. I don't know how I feel about that, exactly. I mean, I love bargains and all, but I just hope it isn't like a Flintstones plane or something-- like we all have to take a running start before we can get airborne.On the agenda for tomorrow: nothing. Absolutely nothing. Of course, our plans may change-- we might take the bus to the Red Sea and check that out. But right now, I'm looking forward to sun, pool, and nothing. Bliss.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment